Races, Running

Race Recap: Walt Disnet World Marathon

Hello everyone!

This is my first blog post ever!  I thought since I want to focus this blog on healthy living I would write my first post on my very first marathon!

Two weeks ago I finished my first marathon at the runDisney Marathon Weekend.  It was the most fantastic experience.  I finished the marathon in 4:54:18 and am very proud of my time.

I started running back in March and training for the marathon began  in May.  I had finished my final season of Figure Skating and I needed something to do to stay fit so I began to run.  Once I got home, I continued running and fell in love with the trails.  I kept training throughout the summer completing first a 10k race, and then a half marathon in September.  The marathon was the cumulation of all of this hard work and I didn’t want to NOT finish.

On the day of the race we had to get up waaaaay early, it was a Disney race after all! My coach (my step-dad) and I headed to the starting area from our hotel and headed to the main holding area.  After dancing and warming up a bit, we made our way to the corrals and I was starting to get nervous! This was what all my hard work had been for and I knew it was going to be a fun run!  The Disney course did not disappoint. Running through all of the parks was fun, and a great way to keep your mind of the pain of running.  After Magic Kingdom, Animal Kingdom, ESPN Wide World of Sports, and Hollywood Studios I was so excited when we finally arrived at Epcot.  I knew we were close and it took all I had to get to that finish line.  Once we made it to the final portion and I could see the finish line I was so relieved to be done.  I crossed the finish line and I felt so happy to have accomplished my goal!  They say once you finish your race, you begin to plan your next one.  Well I have yet to plan it, but I know I will definitely be doing another marathon in the future!

4 thoughts on “Race Recap: Walt Disnet World Marathon”

Leave a Reply

