Running

One Week to Race Day! And Saucony Peregrine 4 Review

Well hello there!  It’s been a while!  I have been training hard and working harder, and have been too busy to post anything this past week!  My new job was awesomely overwhelming this week and our new addition took up quite a bit of time.  We have had a new puppy living with us and it has been so much fun! But also has been very tiring and busy!  She is so cute and is getting along with the other puppy really well.  She has gone home to my grandparent’s now, so things are getting back to normal.

Courtesy of Keep Calm Insta
Courtesy of  Instagram 

I am getting super close to race day and have been hoping that this race goes well!  Pick your Poison is a tough course and I am looking forward to the challenging race!  This local race is part of the OUS (Ontario Ultra Series) and is run by friends of ours.  I have volunteered at this race before and am really looking forward to running it this year.  While volunteering at this race last year, I was inspired to start my running journey.  You can find that story here.

I recently got a new pair of Saucony Peregrine 4s and they are amazing! I love they way they cushion on flat trails but feel sturdy on the single-tracks.  I will be racing in these shoes and cannot wait to see how they take on the race!

Saucony Peregrine 4
Saucony Peregrine 4

I have been taking my training easy lately, but have been hitting the hills to prepare for this wicked race.  My training buddy has been beating me up the hills every time!  But I have been staying closer each time we train,

Abbie, my training buddy!
Abbie, my training buddy!

I have been thinking about this race a lot lately as I feel like I am really unprepared!  I have set some lose goals for the race to keep me on track and to get motivated:

1. Have fun! I love to run so I will enjoy trying a new course and challenging myself to a new distance!

2. Try my best! Since this race is a new distance for me I will be running a new PR!  But I hope that this PR is relatively good, in comparison to training, so let’s keep our fingers crossed!

I am looking forward to getting back to racing!  Any races that you have tried a new distance at?  How do you stay motivated when you get super busy?

Leave a Reply

