Running

My Running Story: From Race Volunteer to Marathoner

My running journey began about a year ago.  I was volunteering, yet again, at a trail race nearby as my step-dad was running.  My mom and I usually volunteer or crew for him while he runs which has been a lot of fun over the years.

Back up three months, and I have just skated my very last varsity competition of my career.  The skating season was over and I was looking for an alternative way to stay fit.  My teammates and I began running the track in the mornings.  Even though I hated it, I did small workouts to ensure I was staying active.  When I finally finished the school year and moved back home to my parent’s house, I continued to run a bit, but not a lot.

My step-dad entered a race at the end of April, and my mom and I signed up once again to volunteer.  As I watched all of the racers go by, I thought it would be pretty neat if I could be one of those people.  I knew that my step-dad ran the Walt Disney World Marathon weekend every year and thought that maybe I would join him to run the half marathon.  I asked him after the race if he would run it with me and he was thrilled I was interested in running, and agreed immediately!

When we finally got around to signing up for the race the half marathon was already sold out and the marathon was at 85% full.  I had to decide quickly if I was going to commit to a marathon.  If it weren’t for my step-dad there was no way I would ever have signed up, but because he is an avid ultra marathoner I knew I would have someone by my side who could get me through the race.

I began training slowly, working my way from 30min runs to a final training run of 30km.  I ran my first race, a 10k in July, completed a half marathon in September (so I could enter a qualifying time for the marathon) and finally ran the Walt Disney World Marathon in January 2015.  The race was not the easiest thing I have done, but we had a race plan and stuck to it!  The course was super fun and kept you distracted, and before I knew it we were into Epcot and on the last portion of the race!  I finally crossed the finish line, under my maximum goal time of 5hours.  I was so thrilled that I had completed the race, and so thankful to my step-dad to getting me there.  I still can’t believe that I am a marathoner, but I now know that I can do more then I ever thought possible.  This year I ran the race that started it all and had the most amazing time.  It is funny how things tend to come full circle, and I can’t wait to see where the next part of running journey takes me!

IMG_5953

4 thoughts on “My Running Story: From Race Volunteer to Marathoner”

  1. I’m so happy and proud of you!! I think it was a blessing in disguise that the half was sold out. How cool is it to be able to say you’ve ran a MARATHON! Can’t wait to say that next January, as well. You could come be my running partner now, just like your step-dad was for you this year…just saying 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thanks Char! I’d totally be down to run it again haha, such a fun race! Can’t wait for you to be able to say you have run a marathon also!

      Like

  2. Thank you for sharing your story Tory, enjoyed reading it. It sounds like you are hooked now. I am sure your step dad was more than extremely thrilled, after you showed an interest. My niece has become a runner, and loves it, and was running the 10k at MEC Barrie today. Makes me very happy! 🙂
    Thank you for sharing! 🙂
    ~Carl~

    Like

Leave a Reply

