Races, Running

Race Recap: A Half Marathon to Remember – Base Borden 2014

I am sharing this recap in a linkup for #MotivateMe Monday with Fitness Cheerleader and Running Rachel to hopefully motivate you to get out there and move!

This race recap is long overdue, but I wanted to get my all my racing journey up here to keep it all up to date.

My second race along my journey to the Walt Disney World Marathon was the Base Borden Half Marathon.  I signed up for this race because it was close to home and was the perfect time of year to test my training so far!

The race day was unseasonably hot, and I was super nervous to get my first big race done.  I had been training with my step-dad but he was unavailable to race with me so I was on my own for this one!  The race check in was super easy, we got there early and waited for the race to start.  The anthem was sung and we were off.

IMG_0182

The course was an out and back but with a loop on the end.  I had looked over the race map many times but misinterpreted the length of the loop on the end.  Everything went fairly well until I got to this loop and didn’t realize how long I was going to be in it.  I began to get dehydrated as it was hot and there were not that many aid stations along the race course.

IMG_0175

By the time I made it back to one of the first aid stations there was no longer any water left and I was super thirsty so had to try some heed for the first time in order to get some fluids in.  I managed to talk myself through the tough section and make it across the finish line!

IMG_0184

I learned a lot from this race, and I now never race without fluids!  I like to be able to drink when I want and not have to wait for aid stations. I have also learned that I can push through even when I think I can’t and I am very happy that I ran the half marathon as a test for the full!  I would highly recommend shorter races before your goal race!

10 thoughts on “Race Recap: A Half Marathon to Remember – Base Borden 2014”

  1. Congratulations on finishing your 1/2 marathon! I haven’t done one yet, but I am to do one next year. This year, I’m concentrating on my 10 Km.

    Like

    1. I have looked up tailwind before, not sure where to get it in Canada though! I’ve thought of trying it out.. do you find it hard only relying on fluids during a race?

      Like

  2. Wow – I can’t beleive they ran out of water. That’s awful. But I guess it’s a lesson that you had to learn through experience. I’m glad you turned what could have been a bad situation into a positive!! Thanks for linking up. Great recap!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

