Fitness, Races, Running

#MotivateMe Monday Race Recap: MEC Barrie Race #3

Happy Monday! Today I am linking up with Fitness Cheerleader and Running Rachel for #MotivateMe Monday to share this weekends race recap!

This post will be a bit of a double whammy as a race and weekly workout recap! I began my training for Haliburton this week so the workouts kind of got derailed! I was not very consistent with Summer Shape Up but I will get it together for this coming week! Now on to the fun stuff… The race recap!

This weekend I ran another MEC race series race. My step-dad and I decided to head to the race as it was super close to our house (only about a 10 minute drive) and it was on the trail that we run for most of our training! We both wanted to take it easy so we chose to run the 5km race.

This was my first 5km race ever so hurray for an automatic PR. My thoughts going into the race were to try to finish under 30 minutes. I like to think that I run around a 6 min/km pace so I wanted to push myself to get under 30 minutes.

My first kilometer I started out a little fast but was feeling good so settled into about a 5:40 min/km pace. My second and third kilometers were about equivalent and I knew that I could beat my goal of 30 minutes.

Screen Shot 2015-06-28 at 6.28.17 PM

We were on the way back and I kept pushing it to finish the run with a strong kick. I finished with a time of 27:20 and I am super proud I was able to push myself. I didn’t think that I could sustain anything less than 6:00 min/km and I am super happy I pushed my limits and got a new PR!

Screen Shot 2015-06-28 at 6.28.25 PM

Running continues to teach me that I am capable of great things if I push myself past my comfort zone!

How do you push yourself out of your comfort zone?!

3 thoughts on “#MotivateMe Monday Race Recap: MEC Barrie Race #3”

  1. Congrats on the PR…automatic or not, you still had a great race!!!! I have yet to break the 30 minute barrier in an actual race…only during training. Sounds like it was a fantastic race for you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

