Races, Running

Officially an Ultramarathoner!

So this post as been a long time coming, but I am officially an ultramarathoner! It took a long time to get there, but I am so excited that I accomplished this goal.

The race where I completed my first ultramarathon was the Haliburton Forest Trail Race.  I was signed up to run the 50km race.  My family has a history of running/volunteering at this race so I knew it would the perfect race to complete my first ultra!  Once again, I decided to enlist the help of my step-dad to get me through my race and he happily said that he would run with me.

We made our way to Haliburton on Friday afternoon, checked in and received our race kit.  We then headed out for dinner.  Accommodations are limited near the race site so we were staying about 40mins away.  We had a great pre-race meal and hit the hay early before the race.

Race morning I was a nervous wreck.  I did my best to eat as much as I could because I knew I was going to need it.  Our trip to the race start was uneventful and we awaited the starting pistol.  The race got off without a hitch and before I knew it, I was beginning a long journey to becoming an ultramarathoner.

The race went by pretty smoothly.  I only had one incident around 34km where my knee seized up.  I was running along and all of a sudden my knee felt like it was going to explode.  I took an advil and kept walking towards the next aid station.  When we got to the aid station, I sat down and stretched out my leg a bit.  We grabbed some snacks and decided I had to try to keep going, so we left the aid station.  Somehow over the next few kms by leg resolved itself, and I was able to start running again!

At about 10km left, the rain started.  It was light and it felt wonderfully refreshing.  We put our heads down and kept running towards the finish line.  As we made the final turn onto the fire road back to base camp, I couldn’t believe I was about to finish running 50kms.  After a summer of training, I was about to become an ultramarathoner.  We crossed the finish line and it felt amazing to be done!  I was so proud of both of us for completing a super challenging run.  We made our way home, got some Kawartha Dairy ice cream to celebrate and packed it in for an early night.  It was amazing to be finished my first 50km and I hope to run many more!

IMG_0687.JPG

1 thought on “Officially an Ultramarathoner!”

Leave a Reply

